I love Zimbabwe too


One thing I love and admire about Zimbabweans is the love we have for our country. Despite all the hardships, the challenges and the hard times, Zimbabweans still find hope in the middle of the desert. Yesterday as Zimbabweans, we celebrated our 32nd Independence Day anniversary. I observed with interest Zimbabweans’ perceptions of Independence Day and among some of the sentiments expressed by Zimbabweans (Zimbos) were the following:.

 There were Zimbabweans who were just happy to celebrate Independence Day and wished their loved ones a happy day.

Happy Independence Day to every Zimbabwean…let our flag fly high!

Happy Independence fellow Comrades, learned colleagues girlfriends and friends.

Happy 32nd birthday Zimbabwe, home of the resilient!

Happy birthday to my beautiful country – Zimbabwe!

Patriotic Zimbabweans declaring their love for their country

 Others took the time to defend their nationhood and declare their patriotism.

I may go to distant borders, but I am still and will always be proudly Zimbabwean….Happy Independence AmaZim Zim.

Whatever your feelings about Zimbabwe, today is our Independence Day. Zimbabwe is full of potential. Don’t ever give up on her. She needs you! Have a great 32nd birthday, Zimbabwe!

Our Zimbabwe, my Zimbabwe…home to abundant wildlife, blessed with the thunders of the Victoria Falls, built from a past empire Great Zimbabwe and home to sons and daughters of the soil. Let us fly our flag high and celebrate our independency day. Together as one we will rebuild our nation!!

Happy Independence my Zimbabwe. Once born in pain and segregation…now we live in harmony…as the nation’s flag flies. I live with pride inside my heart. Even though I am at a distant border, my heart will yearn for this my home…while time and space may separate you, you hold my heart. Proudly Zimbabwean.

100% Patriotic. Proud Zimbo for LIFE. Happy Independence my beautiful Zimbabwe.

Happy birthday to the land of my birth, my hopes and my dreams. 32 years and still going strong! I love Zimbabwe. Happy independence vana vevhu (children of the soil)!!

Happy Sovereignty Day Zimbabwe, you will forever be my first love. May the Lord restore your greatness!!!

Some took the time to thank those who liberated us from the colonial yoke.

Happy Independence Day my country. In memory and gratitude for all those who dedicated their loves to liberate us, and thinking of our failure at keeping your vision alive.

Happy Independence Day Zimbabwe. Memories to those who died for our struggle and for a free Zimbabwe. Yes, it will never be a colony again!!!

From the blood of mighty sons and daughters of the soil sprung one of the strongest countries. Happy independence to all Zimbabweans.

We are happy because of someone who sacrificed his/her life to bring back the freedom.

Makorokoto Zimbabwe.(Congratulations Zimbabwe) Hona vana vako wavayarutsa? (See how you have raised your children and they are now grown-up) Even in good and bad times we stand proud; proud to say I am a Zimbabwean. I am the fruit of her lost sons and daughters’ represent the 263. Happy Birthday to you Zimbabwe. I stand proud semwana wevhu (as a child of the soil).

Others were grateful not to be under British colonialism but disillusioned with the state of affairs in Zimbabwe in particular the continued violation of human rights and social injustices perpetrated by the state.

Some were born in a free country but never tasted freedom. They still have to live another day for that freedom.

Just wondering where others derive the nostalgia and euphoria about Zim independence. If you ask me what independence is when I can’t even post what and how I truly feel on my Facebook status without fear of reprisal at the barest minimum; I can’t even talk about other freedoms.

So much for celebrating the gains of independence when we can’t supply something as basic as electricity.

We have independence but no electricity so we can’t watch the celebration. Baba’s [Our father’s]country!!!

I have just noticed that everyone who is writing about independence is not in Zim, those that are seem to view it as just another day, the day has lost its meaning for those of us here. I find there is little to celebrate- lots more to mourn, it’s a sad day for me.

Others reflected on where we are going as a nation.

“As we reflect on Independence Day, let us not let other people tell us what the Zimbabwean story should be, but rather we should tell that story because we still have the ability and responsibility to shape and develop the Zimbabwe we want to see for our children and grandchildren. Happy Independence Day folks.”

“Zimboz [Zimbabweans] in diaspora still searching 4 bright lights but who never forget where they are from, keep grinding. Hardcore Zimboz who chose to stay and endure…zvichanaka [it shall be well]. Happy Independence day, hope you all find “true democracy”, peace and prosperity in the years to come.”

Toita sei nenyika yeZim? [What shall we do with our nation-Zimbabwe? Toita sei nenyika yeZim? [What shall we do with our nation-Zimbabwe?

Congratulations Zimbabwe on our 22nd anniversary. I think we need to reflect on the mistakes we have made, admit our mistakes and chart a plan that unifies us rather than divide us.

NoViolet Bulawayo wrote a poem so poignant in its depiction of my thoughts:

 She came dressed to kill

This day, 32 years ago

Bloodied but still beautiful

Spotting a green-yellow-red-black and white georgette number

Fighters came from the war and put their weapons down

Kids crawled out of hiding place

Women birthed children named Hondo, named Freedom named Butholezwe

Aunties murdered chickens to cook over frantic fires, in celebration

Black girls and black boys too...k to the streets toyi-toying, chanting “Amandla!!! Viva!!!”

But that was before she got up one night

Many years later, and sneaked away with a love

Smoothe old man on a red rattling bicycle

Today we look for Her in each other’s faces

Eyes barely meeting

Bleeding, broken hearts

Clutching posters that read “missing...

My take...

 I looked on with a sad heart. Trust me, I am a patriotic Zimbabwean ask anyone who has interacted with me at a personal or professional level. I get feisty when defending my country’s name. That doesn’t stop my heart from bleeding when I look at where my country is as compared to where it should be.

 Not only are we still slaves to the whiles of the Western powers which seek to sink us under the yoke of neo-colonialism, with their fake principles of fair trade, illusions of equality of all nations, and the mantra of intellectual property rights in order to patent our traditional knowledge systems and sell them back to us at exorbitant prices.  Yes, we are still not free.

 But what hurts most is the bondage we suffer tied in the grips of our own leaders; leaders whose sole purpose of clinging onto power is self aggrandisement. They talk of a land reform process but to who has the land gone? I don’t have it, do you? They talk of indigenisation but who has been indigenised? I haven't, have you? Is this the Zimbabwe that Tongogara died for, where one can only be deemed truly Zimbabwean if they append their X to a certain symbol on a ballot paper? Surely not!!!

 I hold on to the conviction that those who died fought for a dispensation where every Zimbabwean could enjoy their freedoms, have access to land, live a decent life and benefit from the vast resources we boast of simply because they were Zimbabwean not because they agreed with a certain political ideology. With what we have, how do we deem ourselves better than Ian Smith?

And as a noted I also agree with the words of the President in his speech on Independence Day 1980. In an independent Zimbabwe, those with different opinions are not [and should not be] our enemies.

To read the President’s speech on the occasion of the 32nd Annivesary click here

To view the performance by Bob Marley on Zimbabwe’s Independence Day in 1980 click here

About madubesbrainpot

A fighter for basic freedoms and fundamental human rights View all posts by madubesbrainpot

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,295 other followers

