A Porridge Eating Competition.. (a bedtime story)

Human Rights

I was enthralled reading ZanaKay’s blog, and she is right too, why must a whole nation be held at ransom by and be dependant upon a few individuals who are serving their own interests, ANYWAY. Vote wisely, don’t just vote-ask yourself why are you voting for these people. And as ZanaKay puts it “Cool heads we must keep.”

zanakay

iNow children ,I am going to tell you a story about my village. I lived there with my grandmother when I was very young while my mother worked in the city as a house girl (that is what we call them here). I lived there when the skies were still cloudy with hope. In a way I still live there. There is a sincere innocent part of the soul/mind where one is always 7 years old.

In my village every year, the chief held a porridge eating competition. Only men participated in the porridge eating competition. I don’t know why women were not allowed to contest seeing as it is the women who farmed the maize ,pound the grain and cooked it into a tasty porridge. It is women who gave birth to the men that would later grow up to eat the porridge. If women could nurse the porridge…

View original post 1,009 more words

Leave a Reply

